School Bus Fleet Magazine Forums
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 Professional Garage
 Enter Forum: Professional Garage
 2010 Chevy Duramax- P0483 Fan Rationality Check.
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

eddo
Advanced Member

USA
311 Posts

Posted - 06/04/2015 :  10:43:47 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hey folks,

I'm working on a 2010 Chevy Express 3500 with the 6.6L Duramax (174,000 miles,) and it keeps throwing the DTC "P0483 Fan Rationality Check."

I am new to the world of Duramax's, and frankly have never seen this code in anything else. I can clear the code, drive the ever-lovin-snot out of the truck, and cannot get it to throw a code on me. But as soon as someone else drives it- the code shows, and Check Engine Light comes on.

Any ideas? Google search shows little help. I was told that this could be caused by the water temp not cooling down fast enough when the fan kicks on. Does that sound right to anyone? Based on this, I pulled the grill and blew the bugs out of the condensor, air cooler, and radiator- but the code came back the next day.

BTW- the truck is operating in Tucson, AZ where the temp has been 100 degrees plus all week, with very little humidity. Our first day over 100 degrees is when this started.

BTW2- Is it Duramax's? Duramaxes? Duramaxi?? lol

Thank for reading!

Edited by - eddo on 06/04/2015 11:07:10 AM

eddo
Advanced Member

USA
311 Posts

Posted - 06/04/2015 :  2:31:35 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
and starting today, after a 100 mile run, I am now getting DTC P0402 (EGR Excessive Flow,) as well as O0483.

Could they be related at all?
Go to Top of Page

Troy87

United States
52 Posts

Posted - 06/10/2015 :  04:56:18 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote

Sounds like, at lower/regular speeds the fan is not pulling enough air in to cool the engine. I would check the fan clutch, the fan relay, and grounds for the circuit.