Enter Forum: Management/Operations
 school closure due to wind chill temperature
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

steve evans

1 Posts

Posted - 01/14/2004 :  1:21:56 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I’m looking for feedback on the subject to school closure due to wind chill temperature. Does anybody out there have a written policy or a formula to take cold temperature into account too close school?

We have guidelines for inclement weather but does not cover simply cold temperatures.

I’m a transportation manager for a school district and we are having very cold weather at the moment. Today the wind chill was minus –45. What would your districts do under these circumstances and any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks Steve

bpnh23

66 Posts

Posted - 01/14/2004 :  3:08:24 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
My district is fighting with the same question. This morning it was -13 out with a wind chill of -35. Even the bus that were plugged in had a hard time starting. The one person who forgot to plugg in her bus had to take a spare. Tomorrow morning and Friday morning it is going to be -20 outside. I don't even want to know what the wind chill will be then.
Go to Top of Page

SOS
Advanced Member

USA
253 Posts

Posted - 01/14/2004 :  3:49:44 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I don't mean to be a smart aleck but, believe it or not we closed last year in Febuary for two days due to cold temps. With the wind chill in the single digits and highs forcast to reach high teens to twenty in the day time. This may sound absurd to many of you but here in Georgia that is COLD. (I grew up in northeastern Utah and went to school and later in life to work in temperatures of -25 on more than one occasion). All buses that were cranked started however, the concern was for the students standing out in the cold waiting for the buses. I applaud our TD and super for making this decision for the safety of the students .