violence on the bus...
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

macondriver
Top Member

USA
533 Posts

Posted - 04/12/2003 :  11:46:31 AM  Show Profile  Send macondriver an AOL message  Reply with Quote
I am a out of town driver and What i see is a growing violence on the bus, students with no respect, ready to lash out in a heartbeat,
violence toward the drivers, monitors and eachother....it is not uncommon to hear a driver calling base to request the police and or a ambulance....this is in Illinois, how about other cities and states

JK
Top Member

USA
7307 Posts

Posted - 04/12/2003 :  3:21:46 PM  Show Profile  Visit JK's Homepage  Reply with Quote
You're not alone, concerning violence on the school buses. This is an ongoing topic that your post helps keep on the front burner of our thoughts.

I'm becoming increasingly convinced that the bus driver is among the rarest reasons a school bus environment is found hostile and out of control.

So often it is becoming apparent that the bus driver need look no farther than to their own administration for the greatest examples of child neglect, child endangerment and employee maltreatment on the buses.

The reality is that some administrators are obviously less equipped to discern the truth of a matter or the actual issues, concerning the school bus environment, than what could be expected from a hostile parent. More often than not it is becoming apparent that even untrained and unskilled school bus drivers, with some experience behind the wheel, are more consistent and effective at identifying defiant children and what needs to happen next with these children, than are some school and district administrations.