Brake clunk
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

RonF
Top Member

867 Posts

Posted - 01/16/2019 :  04:54:49 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have been fighting this issue on buses with the drivers for the last 15 years or so and can't get a good answer so maybe here we can figure something out.

Air brakes:
It happens on IC, BlueBird and Thomas from pretty much year ranges 1999-2019 models.
When you apply the brakes whether moving or sitting you get a loud clunk from any wheel at particular times. I have had this happen while driving as well and sometimes the bus would pull hard at that moment and that moment only. While inspection the brake system, everything is adjust and nothing is out of specs.
Some years ago I had a Haldex instructor tell us that if the drivers will push the brake pedal with full air pressure 3-4 times during pre trips, that this will stop that and for the most part it has. He explained that it is the adjusting pawl teeth hitting together just before adjustment.

Again, this is happening on all types of buses, including brand new ones.

Any thoughts???

wwinters

USA
114 Posts

Posted - 01/16/2019 :  05:13:29 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Over the years I find that the S cam roller is not working properly when this is happening, you may want to check that. I clean and use a emery cloth to smooth S cam when installing new rollers, I do not put anything on it due to collecting brake dust causing more problems. I have also found on customer trucks the S cam sticks due to lack of greasing S cam but not so much on School Buses due to more intense servicing
Go to Top of Page

RonF
Top Member

867 Posts

Posted - 01/16/2019 :  05:44:07 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by wwinters