Professional Garage
 Enter Forum: Professional Garage
 AmbuBus Conversion
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Rich R

3 Posts

Posted - 12/20/2018 :  2:22:57 PM  Show Profile  Visit Rich R's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hello, thank you for the add. I am in the process of converting a full size 2006 Bluebird Vision Handy Bus into a mass casualty AmbuBus. The bus was recently donated by our school district and is in excellent condition. Now that it will become an emergency vehicle I will need to have air horns installed. The vendor needs to know the location and how much space is available for the compressor and air tank before he can quote a specific unit. Does anyone have any suggestions? It will be greatly appreciated. This is a new project and I have zero experience with school busses.

Thank you,
Rich

bwest
Administrator

United States
3820 Posts

Posted - 12/21/2018 :  08:59:36 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I assume by your comments that this is a hydraulic brake bus? If so, I believe there should be a compressor mounting pad on the engine. I know my hydraulic brake buses have that pad on them. Another suggestion is to go to a salvage yard and get a compressor, lines, tank and tank mounting brackets from a bus like yours.

Bryan
Go to Top of Page

BigPapa
Advanced Member

215 Posts

Posted - 12/21/2018 :  09:22:32 AM  Show Profile  Visit BigPapa's Homepage  Reply with Quote
If you can post up a VIN or Body Number I'm sure I can help you out.

-Scott
Go to Top of Page

Rich R

3 Posts

Posted - 12/21/2018 :  11:38:16 AM  Show Profile  Visit Rich R's Homepage  Reply with Quote
1BAKFCKA87F243068, I was wrong, it's a 2007.
Go to Top of Page

bwest
Administrator

United States
3820 Posts

Posted - 12/21/2018 :  12:32:10 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Looked that up and it says it stolen.

Bryan
Go to Top of Page

bwest
Administrator

United States
3820 Posts