Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Admin
Administrator

USA
1662 Posts

Posted - 10/31/2017 :  10:57:30 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
We thought you might be interested in this story on a report that was just released by TechForce Foundation that shows a heightened demand for vehicle technicians in the U.S. in the coming years.

http://www.schoolbusfleet.com/news/726068/new-report-shows-higher-demand-for-vehicle-technicians

RonF
Top Member

867 Posts

Posted - 10/31/2017 :  1:23:42 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Sounds about right. I hit social security retirement in 7 years.

US Army retired CMBT
Go to Top of Page

bwest
Administrator

United States
3820 Posts

Posted - 10/31/2017 :  2:13:22 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Yeah, I'm not sure where states thought techs would come from when they cut funding to vocational programs. I've been pushing for more money in our program for over 20 years! We've been hit with a double whammy here. Farms are getting larger and larger, thereby producing less and less young people with hands on skills. Second thing is that our state couldn't care less about our vocational program. They are dragged kicking and screaming every time the bill for funding it is renewed. Here's a bonus for you- more math, language and science credits are required to get into college than ever before. So, less and less kids are taking "shop" classes and less general fund money is available to fund vocational as a result. I suspect that many hands on trades will be paid like doctors and lawyers in the next few years. That's when the pendulum will swing the other way. Dang pointy headed intellectuals anyway!!

Bryan
Go to Top of Page

second.flood
Top Member

USA
640 Posts

Posted - 11/01/2017 :  04:12:22 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I think the demand is already here. I searched for three years to find a tech. Finally settled for a 20 year old apprentice.
The jury is still out.