Professional Garage
 Enter Forum: Professional Garage
 Wiring GREMLIN 1997 Thomas MVP ER 8.3 Cummins
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

johnsc2c

3 Posts

Posted - 11/04/2015 :  09:52:15 AM  Show Profile  Visit johnsc2c's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hello to All....I am an Auto Mechanic. Subaru is my Specialty.
That Being said...

I have a Very odd strange Wiring problem on a 1997 Thomas Pusher with 8.3 Cummins Mechanical Motor, and Allison 6 speed Electronic Trans
142,000 miles and 6600 hrs on the clock.

Here is its Back story.

I bought this Bus Used in May this Year. I drove it home 380 Miles with no Issues at all...Over some very Rough Road, towing a Car on a trailer behind it. I parked it and started Building it into a Rescue Dog Transport Vehicle. I added Shelf units inside it, along with 1/2 inch Conduit along the Ceiling to Run 3 AC units and some 110 power outlets. I run all that thru a 7k Genset I installed in the Cargo box under the bus.

During the Work time here in my Driveway, I fired and Ran the Bus bi-weekly....Never an Issue.

3 wks ago, I went to take off for its First Cross Country Road Trip, and I had the Fuel Shut off Solenoid Fail and shut motor down at 55 mph on the Hwy....Luckily I was in a Straight stretch, and I got it off the Road. It fired Right back up, and after 4 fails, I got it To a Parking lot. Originally I was thinking Fuel Delivery issue, and I replaced all Fuel Filters. Limped it almost back home 5 miles, failed and Shut off again....at this Point A Inj/Pump Mechanic/Rebuilder Buddy, told me Pull the Solenoid off motor....I did, and Got home. I bought a New Fuel Shut off Solenoid, thinking it was tired, weak.... Fired up on the New unit, Within 45 secs..It shut down.

I have Found that My Root Problem is that i am Loosing Voltage /amperage when I start to run Any Load....ie: Lights, Heater fans, interior lights.