New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Carp_26
Administrator

United States
170 Posts

Posted - 12/06/2013 :  05:53:54 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am wondering with all the issues for the International VT365...is it possible to repower the bus with another engine? I'm not a mechanic so I don't know all the logistics involved. We have 2 of these units (2006 models)and continue (like many others) dumping money into the engines to keep them road worthy. I'm certain the dealer would offer us little more than scrap value as a trade in. Aside from the engine issues the buses are both in good condition. What are your thoughts on a repower or engine replacement? What engine would be a suitable replacement?

Fastback
Top Member

1500 Posts

Posted - 12/06/2013 :  06:11:40 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Possible but not practical

Why yes, the ORIGinal CHARGER is a Fastback
Go to Top of Page

C.HARDY
Advanced Member

354 Posts

Posted - 12/08/2013 :  10:20:35 AM  Show Profile  Click to see C.HARDY's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
We repowered alot of our "mechanical" 7.3Ls with 466s as they died off (a 3 day project) but I would be afraid with the computers it would be near impossible with out rewiring. I would say trade the bus in...lol

"Hardybusman"
Go to Top of Page

txstreetman

USA
29 Posts

Posted - 12/09/2013 :  1:07:10 PM  Show Profile  Visit txstreetman's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Funny you mention repowering mechanical 7.3's with a DT466. I am in the process of repowering my 1987 from a 7.3 mechanical to a DTA360. Gotta adapt the DT wiring harness from a 90's 3800 chassis plug to the 1980's S-Series plug...

-Jon

1987 Thomas International DTA360 5 Speed w/ 4 speed aux, air brakes
Go to Top of Page

C.HARDY
Advanced Member

354 Posts

Posted - 12/11/2013 :  04:42:02 AM  Show Profile  Click to see C.HARDY's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote