Professional Garage
 Enter Forum: Professional Garage
 cracked crossmember
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

bandit

41 Posts

Posted - 10/15/2013 :  4:37:53 PM  Show Profile  Visit bandit's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I am new to working on buses, and I have a cracked crossmember by the rear tire where the mud flap goes, can I just weld angle iron on this or is there a kit of some sort? I would like to put this bus back in service but I want to make sure I am doing it right. the bus is a 1996 ford any suggestions would be great.

bwest
Administrator

United States
3820 Posts

Posted - 10/16/2013 :  08:18:42 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I would be real careful when welding anything on a school bus. Personally, I can weld anything together. I have the capability to do it but choose not to because of liability. Just keep in mind, if there is an accident with injuries or death there will be an investigation. With this investigation will come countless questions about what repairs were done and not done, what qualifications you, or anyone that worked on the bus, have or do not have. If you choose to do it just have all your ducks in a row. Chances are nothing will ever happen. but if it does it won't be pretty.

Bryan
Go to Top of Page

BJ Henderson
Advanced Member

USA
280 Posts

Posted - 10/16/2013 :  09:56:10 AM  Show Profile  Send BJ Henderson an AOL message  Reply with Quote
bandit, if you did weld it to the frame, it would not stay on, anyway.

CMTT,CMAT,CMBT
Go to Top of Page

Fastback
Top Member

1500 Posts

Posted - 10/17/2013 :  04:34:43 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Not sure exactly what kind of issue you have.

If you are talking about welding on the bus chassis, not a good idea.

If you are talking about an issue on the bus body, maybe.

If you are talking about a rear mud flap bracket problem on a Bluebird body, they do sell bolt on replacements.

Why yes, the ORIGinal CHARGER is a Fastback