Safety Issues and Drivers' Concerns
 Enter Forum: Safety Issues and Drivers' Concerns
 Complicated situation
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

8415nosleepingkidsonthebus

5 Posts

Posted - 04/11/2013 :  5:05:54 PM  Show Profile  Visit 8415nosleepingkidsonthebus's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I have been driving a school bus for four years without any major issues. I mad a bad judgement call and now me and my manager are in a sticky situation. I was driving the delivery truck after my morning run with the school bus today. Its kind of a tall cargo type truck its not real big, but its kind of the size of a U Haul truck. So I am stopped at a Dunkin Donuts for a sandwich because I was hungry. The parking was full so I thought well I can go through the drive through. I see the watch your head clearence sign and I thought I was going to be slick and go around it because there was room to do that because it was next to a car wash. I place my order pull up to the window to pay and all I hear is the sound of crunching metal. I took a second or two for me to realize what had happened. There was a roof over the drive through and the truck was too tall and it hit it. The cashier didn't seem to care, in fact she said I could just leave. I thought to myself hold on here let me talk to your manager. So the manager asked me did you hit it, I said yes. He came out and took pictures of the damage that was really minimal. I gave him my name and number my managers name and number, and the name of the company. I asked him if this would go on my driving record he said no because the police are not involved. He then went on to say he will call his insurance company and they will give my manager a call. So at that point I thought well this will be resolved, and I drove back to my company with the intent to talk to my manager about everything that happened right away. I get back there and wasn't sure if my manager was in the building so I t