New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

genescammell

USA
22 Posts

Posted - 02/18/2013 :  08:55:04 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
hi everyone
i have been working on school buses for a long time but not on the newer ones the vt365 we now have are something else i have servicemax i am still learning how to use it
i hooked up to my bus a 2005 ih with a vt365 my driver told me it lost power then quit looking at service max i have 175 cranking rmp but servicemax say the fuel pressure should bulid to apx 750 psi i only get 325 psi any info on this issue would be very helpful
Thanks

Bassman
Top Member

USA
558 Posts

Posted - 02/18/2013 :  09:07:42 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I think you mean ICP - injection control pressure. This is oil pressure generated by the high pressure pump that is used to fire the injectors. If ICP is way below the desired, you most likely have ICP leak. A common failure is at the branch tube fitting at the high pressure pump outlet. They have been redesigned from factory with a better fitting that comes in a kit from IH. Another common failure has been the high pressure pump itself. You need to do a leak test. My tech will be in tomorrow to provide a part number.
Go to Top of Page

Schoolbus56

United States
128 Posts

Posted - 02/18/2013 :  12:28:44 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote