International 444e Major oil leak side of pan
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Mark23290

United States
96 Posts

Posted - 12/17/2012 :  07:44:05 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
This morning I got out of bus and found oil everywhere.. There is a big plug looking thing with a ring but near the starter on the side of the oil pan, oil has poured out of the pan through this.. What is it and can I just tighten and put new oil in?
I'm a private contractor and never seen this happen before.

Any help or ideas appreciated.

Fastback
Top Member

1500 Posts

Posted - 12/17/2012 :  07:49:05 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Its the dipstick tube adapter. International makes a repair kit that can be installed without removing pan. You can try tightening the nut but chances are you won't stop the leak by doing so.

Why yes, the ORIGinal CHARGER is a Fastback
Go to Top of Page

Fastback
Top Member

1500 Posts

Posted - 12/17/2012 :  07:56:43 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
PAN DOES NOT NEED TO BE REMOVED!
International has a repair kit for this problem.
I believe its PN 1846146C91.

Edited by - Fastback on 12/17/2012 08:11:44 AM
Go to Top of Page

Fastback
Top Member

1500 Posts

Posted - 12/18/2012 :  05:42:52 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by joeheb

Darn!!! Fastback. I've done hundreds that way.

Edit: Had no clue they had a repair kit for it.

oucch, T444E oil pan R&R is no fun.
I imagine International come out with the kit to reduce warranty costs with this repair. It basically involves using an oil galley cleaning brush inserted into the dipstick tube hole to keep that piece from dropping into pan, then remove the big nut (fan clutch wrench fits), pull out o ring, clean area of oil, reassemble with a paper gasket on outside of pan and the supplied in the kit permatex/Loctite products.

Go to Top of Page

Thomasbus24
Administrator

USA
4545 Posts