Professional Garage
 Enter Forum: Professional Garage
 fuel lines for detroit diesel 8.2
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

mojojojo

11 Posts

Posted - 09/18/2012 :  2:43:31 PM  Show Profile  Visit mojojojo's Homepage  Reply with Quote
where do the fuel lines enter a 8.2L detroit diesel '83? i have not been able to locate injectors or pump. i have very little knowledge of this so please give a layman description. thank you.

Thomas Ford 85-16
Top Member

USA
4170 Posts

Posted - 09/18/2012 :  6:49:51 PM  Show Profile  Visit Thomas Ford 85-16's Homepage  Send Thomas Ford 85-16 an AOL message  Reply with Quote
The 8.2L Detroit used unit injection with a single pump, meaning that a pump pressurized fuel to a "rail" in each cylinder head (though rail is too modern of a word). The tops of the injectors were submerged in this rail, supplying them fuel. The camshaft in each head would mechanically activate each injector independently. The large pressures necessary for fuel injection were created entirely within each injector.