New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Carp_26
Administrator

United States
170 Posts

Posted - 03/31/2012 :  10:44:27 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm not a mechanic...2012 IC CE with air door, turn style switch is located on the control panel. Has toggle style "emergency" and "normal" switch just above door. All this happens in "normal" mode. When the door is opened, the outward opening leafs tend to flap in the wind so to speak. Students generally pull on them a little to squeeze by. The door closes tight. and stays closed. I've noticed the plunger style door opener doesn't seem to have much holding it up (a couple washers, pin and cotter key through the bracket) and appears to fall down a little once the door is opened, which causes the leafs to seem loose. Anyone else encountered this? Air pressure is good according to the little guage on the line. Our first air operated door. Sister bus isn't having this issue.

slippert
Top Member

USA
630 Posts

Posted - 03/31/2012 :  1:37:25 PM  Show Profile  Click to see slippert's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
The linkage adjustment has alot to do with how door acts when opened and closed, also the brackets that are fastened to the door are adjustable and do come loose. Mine have all had to be tighten/adjusted after some use from new. I ck to make sure door is adjusted properly and all brackets linkages are tight and mounted correcly. The air cylinder has adjustments on both ends also, The doors are all aluminum and if a problem exsits at the door brackets and is not addressed, it doesn't seem to take long for it to loosen threaded inserts or crack door frame.

Edited by - slippert on 03/31/2012 2:24:13 PM
Go to Top of Page

topsfan

6 Posts

Posted - 07/13/2012 :  07:17:48 AM  Show Profile  Visit topsfan's Homepage  Reply with Quote