Enter Forum: Professional Garage
 RE Throttle Linkage
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

matts4290
Advanced Member

224 Posts

Posted - 04/26/2010 :  11:21:33 PM  Show Profile  Visit matts4290's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hey all. I'm new to RE school buses, and I was wondering how the throttle linkage works on older buses. The only one I own and have been around is a 2002, which has an electronic throttle. Are the older ones air, or do they actually have a cable running that far?

78fordwayne
Top Member

USA
2868 Posts

Posted - 04/27/2010 :  10:56:02 AM  Show Profile  Visit 78fordwayne's Homepage  Send 78fordwayne an AOL message  Send 78fordwayne a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
The older REs I have seen were all air throttles.

Robert B.

Go to Top of Page

Thomasbus24
Administrator

USA
4545 Posts

Posted - 05/12/2010 :  11:42:27 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
More than you wanted to know about popular RE throttle controls, stated as to be clear as mud:

Williams Controls came out with the air throttle system in the 1950s but it didn't really catch on with the school bus world until around 1980.

Prior to 1980, many RE units did have mechanical long-link systems, which was just a cable from the pedal all the way back to the engine compartment. Thomas used the Morse Teleflex system which did the job, but let me tell you, when those linkages got worn, that bus became a real dog (see 1 minute 45 seconds to go from 0-55 on a straight, flat road---did that for years).

Another weakness was that the pedal linkage system would seize up after sitting for extended periods which made the first day back from summer break a real treat. Fast idle was accomplished by a locking cable device attached to the pedal itself.

Also, when an autoatic transmission was used, yet another cable was attached near the engine-end of the cable to run to the tranny to serve as a modulator.