Enter Forum: Professional Garage
 Service manuals for Safe-T-Liner
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

BUSBOOB

USA
4 Posts

Posted - 01/13/2010 :  6:46:02 PM  Show Profile  Visit BUSBOOB's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Well, this forum appears to be quite a wealth of information. I'm a newbie here and was wondering if anyone out there has any service manuals for a Cat 3116 engine serial# starting with 7H and also a 1993 Thomas Safe-T-Liner ER 84 passenger I could purchase?

I have a couple questions regarding the manuals on these buses.

1. Is there 1 service manual from Thomas that covers body, chassis, electrical? Or are they all seperate?

2. Would all the plumbing, hydraulics, cooling fan configuration be Thomas or CAT?

Thanks guys
Dan

bwest
Administrator

United States
3820 Posts

Posted - 01/13/2010 :  8:00:37 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm not a Thomas man by no means. So someone may have some better information. Over the years it has been a good rule of thumb if it is yellow it is Cat. Most of the time there are some sensors on the engine that belong to the chassis manufacturer. Most of the time it is just coolant and oil sensors. As for the manuals most of the time there is one for the body and one for the chassis. Then of course there is also one for the engine.

Hope this helps and maybe someone else can add to it.

Bryan
Go to Top of Page

JustinB
Advanced Member

United States
490 Posts

Posted - 01/14/2010 :  05:11:09 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The ER is pretty much self contained in the same manual. Thomas was/is responsable for the engineering & sourcing on both the chassis & the body. I may amend this post laster If I can get you to some non password protected hyper-links.

Gah! No luck on the public domain links. The only things I could find were the FS-65 & C2 on the http://accessfreightliner.com/