School Bus Fleet Magazine Forums
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 School Bus Equipment
 Enter Forum: School Bus Equipment
 Bus veteran offers advice on diesel, buyses, etc.
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

patrick young

USA
84 Posts

Posted - 07/29/2005 :  11:55:29 AM  Show Profile  Visit patrick young's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Howdy folks

I'm a bus nut, who uses buses to haul medical supplies to Central America and Haiti. Plelase read my blurb below, and contact me if I can help with anything.

thanks

Pat Young
Wheelchair Project
=======
Howdy fellow Enthusiast/Bus Fan

I am new to the site, but I already recognize many of the nice bus folks and names I’ve seen for years on the Net. So I wanted to drop a line to some of the members who I think I might be able to share information with, or possibly lend assistance.

I am a retired school teacher (not by choice) who has been working with buses and trucks and diesel stuff for about 18 years. I've also owned 3 diesel Mercedes, a diesel Isuzu (Great car!), Lister Diesels, Deutz diesels, and I have also had two Nissan diesel pickups. I started driving a truck (Int’l Fleetstar 2000D, 6-71 DD, 10 speed Roadranger) 31 years ago when I was in the military.

I'm best on school buses, so if you have an expensive silversides 4104 I will be of only limited help. But I do know quite a bit about engines in general, especially Cummins, CAT, Detroits and IHC. I’ve helped rebuild a CAT 1160 V-8, and a 180 Cummins, so I learned a lot and got very dirty!

I currently have several Crowns, some Gilligs, a Ford/Gillig, an International/Ward, and also LOTS of tires and bus parts. I mean LOTS!