Subscribe Today

April 07, 2008  |   Comments (0)   |   Post a comment

Florida team wins special-needs roadeo again


NORTH LITTLE ROCK, Ark. — A veteran pair of pupil transporters placed first in the 11th National Special-Needs Team Safety Roadeo here on March 8.

The outcome marked the fourth time since 2001 that driver Ed Lipsey and attendant Ann England of Orange County (Fla.) Public Schools have taken the event’s top honor.

Coming in second were Lauren Murphy and Rebecca Kiperts of San Diego Unified School District. In third were Elizabeth Clisbee and Tina Rodriguez of Bethel School District in Spanaway, Wash.

The roadeo drew 23 teams from 16 states.

Competitors were judged in driving and backing a bus; loading, unloading and securing students in wheelchairs; and bus evacuation. Additionally, a written test had to be completed before the event.

The roadeo is administered and managed by Edupro Group and NAPT. It is hosted annually by the National Conference and Exhibition on Transporting Students with Disabilities and Preschoolers.

Post a Comment

Read more about: roadeo

Request More Info about this product/service/company

Post a comment

Related Stories

Premium Member

Get bus sales numbers, transportation statistics, bus specifications, industry survey results, bus loading and unloading fatality statistics and more in the School Bus Fleet Research Center. Become a premium member today!
Log in Button Register Button


Get breaking news, industry updates, product announcements and more.