Subscribe Today

September 01, 2007  |   Comments (0)   |   Post a comment

Barry Stock takes lead at NSTA


BOSTON — At the annual convention of the National School Transportation Association (NSTA), Barry Stock took over the reins as president of the contractor group, becoming the first Canadian to lead the organization.

Stock, senior vice president of business development for National Express Corp., succeeds John Corr, president of The Trans Group in Spring Valley, N.Y. Stock is a past winner of SCHOOL BUS FLEET’s Contractor of the Year award.

The convention, held in mid-July, also saw the unveiling of the NSTA’s 2007-10 strategic plan. Steven Hey, president of School Bus Inc. in South Dakota, chaired the strategic plan committee. In its presentation on the three-year plan, the association outlined the following prioritized goals:

  • Safety and security
  • Contractor solutions
  • Business growth
  • Advocacy
  • Voice of the membership
  • Membership development


    A recent survey of NSTA members found growing interest in the association’s role in business development and less interest in federal advocacy, which was integrated into the strategic plan.

    “I think you’re going to see a greater focus on the business side,” said Robin Leeds, NSTA’s government relations liaison. “It’s not that we’re not going to continue doing what we’ve done with ASBC [American School Bus Council] and with advocacy efforts on behalf of the school bus industry, but I think there will be more focus on private-sector business.”

    Advocacy, however, is key to surmounting some of the anti-privatization measures either approved or being considered by some states.

    In Illinois, for example, Gov. Rod Blagojevich is considering a bill that would make it difficult for school districts to outsource support services such as transportation. Other states that are considering similar bills are Oregon and Minnesota.

    In other news, the NSTA announced programs with Bus Parts Warehouse and ADP Employer Services that will provide association members with discounts and other benefits.

    The following award winners were announced at the convention:

    Golden Merit Award Winners
    Thomas W. Beck, Beck Bus Transportation, Mt. Vernon, Ill.
    Mike Clark, Ottertail Minn-Dakota Coaches Inc., Fergus Falls, Minn.
    Linda Coates, Durham School Services, Farmington, Conn.
    Tom Dawson, Dawson Bus Services Inc., Camden, Del.
    Kay Hemstreet, First Student Inc., Vancouver, Wash.
    Tyna Henderson, Petermann Bus, Cincinnati
    Steven Hey, School Bus Inc., Sioux Falls, S.D.
    Cynthia Houk, Dousman Transport, Dousman, Wis.
    Tom McBride, Durham School Services, Downers Grove, Ill.
    Tom Ready, Ready Bus Line, La Crescent, Minn.

    Hall of Fame Award Winners
    John Corr, The Trans Group, Spring Valley, N.Y.
    Gail Heyser, Wilson’s Bus Service Inc., Pasadena, Md.

    Distinguished Service Award
    Tim Flood, The Trans Group, Spring Valley, N.Y.

    Thomas Built Buses Continuing Education Award Winner
    Sean Corr, The Trans Group, Spring Valley, N.Y.

    Outstanding School Transportation Administrator Award
    Lenny Bernstein, Haverstraw-Stony Point Central School District, Haverstraw, N.Y.

    Outstanding Driver Service Award
    Ernestene Hutson, Haverstraw Transit, Haverstraw, N.Y.

    Recognition was also given to John Elliott, president and CEO of Durham School Services, who was named SCHOOL BUS FLEET’s Contractor of the Year.

    Winners of the International Safety Competition were also recognized during the convention.

    Small Bus Class
    First place: Jaye Jaye Knickelbein, Trigg County (Ky.) Board of Education
    Second place: Bob Hutson, Durham School Services, Kansas
    Third place: Cynthia E. Smith, Olathe (Kan.) USD 233

    Conventional Class
    First place: George Soverns, Rittenhouse Bus Lines Inc., Pennsylvania
    Second place: Larry Hannon, Centennial School District, Pennsylvania
    Third place: Cindy Shipley, Laidlaw Education Services, Colorado

    Transit Class
    First place: Alfred Boyce, Falcon School District 49, Colorado
    Second place: Edward Hundley, USD 501, Topeka (Kan.) Public Schools
    Third place: Tyler Reynolds, Virginia Beach (Va.) Public Schools

    The NSTA Mid-Winter Meeting will be held Jan. 20 to 23, 2008, in Cancun, Mexico.


  • Post a Comment

    Read more about: conferences, NSTA

    Request More Info about this product/service/company

    Post a comment

    Related Stories

    Premium Member

    Get bus sales numbers, transportation statistics, bus specifications, industry survey results, bus loading and unloading fatality statistics and more in the School Bus Fleet Research Center. Become a premium member today!
    Log in Button Register Button


    Get breaking news, industry updates, product announcements and more.